friday faves

Happy Friday all! I hope you’re looking forward to this weekend as much as I am. My mom flies in tomorrow morning for over a week, and I am so looking forward to some time spent together and time for her to have with Lydia. We haven’t seen her since January, so we are soooo overdue for some Mimi time!

In the meantime, here are some things I’ve been loving lately:

my new mug

IMG_0160

My sister-in-law MaryBeth always seems to give the cutest little gifts every so often.. and this mug from Anthropologie is definitely in that category! It is so springy, girly, and sweet.. I love it. I must say, I’ve never purchased any clothes from Anthropologie (too pricey for me), but their home goods get me swoonin’ big time.

spring chores

IMG_0147

The warm (85 degrees on Tuesday!) weather this week prompted us to get going on our outdoor space. While we don’t have much, it makes a difference to me to have some flowers and greenery in to brighten it up. Today we headed to Home Depot to pick up some flowers & herbs for our back deck planters, hanging baskets for the front porch, and mulch to make the front shrub area looking spiffy. Cue all the springtime feels!!

Cereal Mixing

I try very hard not to have cereal too often, but sometimes I just need that crunchy, milky goodness! In an effort to reduce the amount of sugar I consume with said cereal, I started adopting my mom’s go-to mix: Grape Nuts Flakes mixed with Sunbelt Simple Granola. The flakes have 4g of sugar per serving and the granola has 9, very low in terms of sugar content in cereal, so I don’t feel too guilty indulging in a bowl every once in a while. The granola also has 6g of protein, an added bonus!

S-Town Podcast

s-town-itunes.jpg

I am only really able to listen to podcasts while I run alone (i.e. without Lydia in the jogging stroller), so I am only through two episodes, but the ending of the second has me totally hooked! Brought to you by the producers of Serial & This American Life, the podcast focuses on an alleged murder in a low-income Alabama town (the “s” stands for “shit”). Part social commentary, part murder mystery and featuring some truly unique “characters”, you’ll be intrigued if you’re a podcast listener.

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

small-great-things-hc-400w

I know some are critical of Picoult’s writing, but I’ve been a fan ever since My Sister’s Keeper. In fact, while living in Dubai for a few months after college, I found solace in her familiar writing style and couldn’t stop reading her work. I was also able to listen to her speak as part of the National Writers Series in Traverse City, and took a lot from her descriptions of how she generates ideas for her novels and her writing process.

I have Small Great Things on my phone from the library app, and only have a few more days to read it but many more pages, so I’ve got to get moving, but the off-the-bat tensions and characterization has me hooked from the start.

 

Leave a Reply

