recent reads

I know I am going to meet my goal of reading 30 books in 3 years, but whether or not I chronicle them all is another story! Here are some books I’ve read in the past few months (I’m not even putting in books about babies/pregnancy/childbirth, of which I have read a lot lately!). I’m going to be brief in my reviews of these as well.

51OiLCU-zyL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

We read this for book club. I was excited because I’ve loved Moriarty’s other books (Big Little Lies, The Husband’s Secret)– they are light page-turners that make great beach reads. What Alice Forgot is similar in that respect, although less believable and with a less than satisfying ending (in my opinion, but many book club friends disagreed!).

9780385540353_custom-33ab8ae1bf4a8fc1c57151fc42185546369138a3-s400-c85

Another book club choice. I hadn’t read any of Atwood’s canon, and I guess this one was quite a deviation from her usual topics. However, I thought it was thought-provoking, a bit shocking, and great for a book club discussion. Many people did not like it, but I enjoyed the dystopian/post-apocalyptic feel.

all-the-light-we-cannot-see-9781476746586_hr

One I’ve had on my list for a while. Doeer’s use of symbolism and figurative language created a beautifully crafted WWII tale, but at times it was a bit confusing for me. I may need to revisit this one to fully appreciate it.

515p3OrN1KL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Another WWII novel, focused on women during the Nazi occupation of France. One of my very favorite reads in the last 3 years, hands down. Well-crafted characters, amazing theme, beautiful writing. Highly recommend.

51LOMFLbcvL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Another book club pick. Apparently the author received a huge advance for this book and it’s the first she’s ever written (and she’s in her 50s). Portrays a dysfunctional family as they figure out what to do when “The Nest” (family trust fund) is swept away from them. The switch in perspectives was a bit confusing and some of the side stories seemed unnecessary, but the overall theme and writing style were enjoyable.

9717

A classic, and a beautiful read. Kundera makes some profound statements throughout this novel, and I wish I would have written some of them down! A bit sad at times and the Czech history/info about the Prague Spring was interesting but could be a little confusing with my lack of background knowledge on it.

12190308

Based on “The Age of Innocence” by Edith Wharton, which I have not read, but many criticize that it is basically the same story with a different setting. It was interesting to read about Jewish culture and the lives of the elite in London, but not a favorite.

 

.. so that’s 7 alone, so hopefully you believe me when I say I will definitely reach my goal! 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “recent reads

Leave a Reply

