friday faves

Hello friends! Happy Friday!!

In hopes of keeping up this blog a little more and to spice things up a bit, I am instituting a new ritual for me, Friday faves, in which I will recap things I have been loving/doing that week/lately (positive only!). I am sure this will be as random as my likes/dislikes, but hopefully it will at least be interesting!

  • Chris Stapleton & Justin Timberlake’s CMA performances

If you haven’t watched their performances of “Drink You Away” and “Tennessee Whiskey”, it’s an absolute must. Of course, Justin can do no wrong ever in my eyes, but Chris Stapleton was a new name for me. After listening to both performances on repeat over the weekend, I decided to play Stapleton’s album, Traveler, during our drive back from Cleveland yesterday and I loved his folksy, bluesy, raspy voice. I will be listening to more of him, that’s for sure! And Justin.. I’m ready to see you in concert again. 2006 was a long time ago.

  • Plaid Flannel

I think I am probably really late to the plaid flannel game here, but I am loving this trend. As the fall season approached, I made a list of purchases I really wanted/needed to add to my wardrobe. When I went shopping, I made myself stick to this list first when buying anything. A plaid-flannel button up was on this list, and I found one I loved at Marshall’s. After wearing it once and experiencing its softness, warmth, and versatility (see “20 Style Tips on How to Wear a Plaid Flannel Shirt“), I was in love, and since I have purchased another shirt, a plaid dress, a plaid shirtdress, and a plaid blanket scarf. I know.. so basic of me.

12196335_10205682091358078_3376679284894451722_n

This picture was taken at the E. 210th Street Chili Cookoff (Jim’s parents’ street) this past weekend. Wearing plaid flannel was a requirement for the party.. Allyce and Maggie have it on, you just can’t see it!

  • Themed Menu Days

Jim and I have been trying to do “theme” days during the week to help give our meal planning some focus but also cause us to stretch our definitions of different types of meals a bit. We’ve gone with Soup Sunday the past few weeks (Thai Butternut Squash, Kale/Chicken, and Chili), I’ve done some Meatless Mondays (farro bowls, specifically–see below), and Taco Tuesdays have also been on the menu. It’s a fun way to try some recipes we may not otherwise try, and gives us a little something to look forward to with meal planning!

IMG_0270

farro, quinoa, spinach, sweet potatoes, chopped walnuts, dates, and red onion simmered in balsamic & topped with goat cheese. mmmm.

  • This picture of Roo

IMG_0253

I mean, can you even?! Thanks to Auntie MaryBeth for snapping it.

  • Working

I have finally been able to start subbing a bit. While I am still waiting on my sub certificate to actually teach, I’ve been able to be an assistant in the school offices or classrooms. I’m loving feeling like a productive member of society who gets up, dressed and going in the morning, and experiencing the different schools has been interesting. The jobs themselves tend to be a little on the boring side (most of the time I am not really needed), but working a full day has helped me be more productive and happy overall. Yay for that!

  • Timehop

Usually Timehop is not that exciting, but every once and a while it pulls up a real gem. Yesterday, an awesome one came up:

IMG_0274

This put a huge smile on my face and reminded me of how funny just about every moment with Grace was. She was either purposefully or accidentally funny most of the time, and this was a great reminder of how much laughter she brought (and obviously still brings!) to my life. Miss that girl.

Well, that’s all for this Friday. Have a great weekend!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

