hello september

Every September, I scratch my head and wonder how summer flew by so fast, and today is no exception.

I used to be so excited for the start of September, and now my birthday feels like just another sucker punch… like the universe is saying, “I’m taking away your summer, and YOUR YOUTH!” Can’t you just hear the universe saying that?

However, I am usually disappointed with an undercurrent of excitement in September. A new school year, football and fall fun to look forward to… it’s always a bit revitalizing. This year is just so different from any other year, and September is likewise going to be very different.

I would say that for the first time in 23 years, I am not starting off September by going back to school, but I AM taking a grad class online this fall! We have already had a few assignments due, and it has been nice to have something academic to focus on. Of course, it also makes me miss the classroom more too, but at least it will help me to be the best teacher I can be when I get back to the… whiteboard? 🙂 But other than the class, this September will be mostly a travel month for me, starting with Cleveland for a wedding this weekend and labor day fun with the in-laws and friends, then moving to Michigan (!!) to spend a couple weeks in my favorite place with my favorite people (except hubby :() and capping it off with a wedding in Puerto Rico and our honeymoon!! So, truly, it is bound to be an awesome month. Just a little bit different than what I am used to!

Anyway, a little recap of what we’ve been up to since Chicago:

  1. Eating. Our favorite “date” nights have been eating and drinking the night away on the back deck together. Yes, we have no friends, but yes, my favorite time is time spent with Jim, and we even learned how to play “Heads Up” one-on-one competitively. Let’s just say it involves “partial” points for the hint-giver to entice him/her to give good clues. We ended up tying.
    ma man's ribs, my fauxtatoes (cauliflower mashed), corn & salad!

    ma man’s ribs, my fauxtatoes (cauliflower mashed), corn & salad!

    still obsessed w/ chips/guac/margs. This time, we made our own chips using corn tortillas, and I added greek yogurt to my guac for a whole notha level of guac creaminess.

    still obsessed w/ chips/guac/margs. This time, we made our own chips using corn tortillas, and I added greek yogurt to my guac for a whole notha level of guac creaminess.

  2. House projects! I have been selling things we don’t want/need on Craigslist, and we also picked up this little number a few weeks ago that I have been dying to refinish:
  3. jim took the doors off before I got my

    jim took the doors off before I got my “before” photo, but I wasn’t going to make him put them back on!

    work, work, baby haaaard work.

    work, work, baby haaaard work.

    almost done!

    almost done!

    voila! off-white with an

    voila! off-white with an “antique” or “distressed” finish. Sanding, 4 coats of paint, plus more sanding made a huge project, but SO worth it! I love our kitchen hutch!!

  4. Running. Yup.. still doing it! We did 13.1 this past weekend. It is crazy to me that we are already at the half-marathon point, but yet still so much to go! I did have a pretty nice realization during this run, though. I decided that although I fear them somewhat, I have actually been enjoying my long runs more than my shorter ones. Long runs allow me to just “relax” a bit and settle into a run, listening to a podcast or having a long time to pray or contemplate. I am not always thinking about “just one more mile”– I am just putting one foot in front of the other. I’m not anxious about having to go fast or having to get things done at home, I am just there for the long haul (literally). On my short runs, I am always ready to be done because I know that “done” is not usually too far off. So, I will probably eat my words next week on my 15 mile run, but for now I am embracing my newfound appreciation for ze longggg run.
believe me, we made up for these cals with the chips, guac & margs later on..

believe me, we made up for these cals with the chips, guac & margs later on..

Leave a Reply

