3. volunteer somewhere new & 13. read 30 books

3. volunteer somewhere new

I thought it was about time for an update! This weekend I had another opportunity to volunteer with Robin’s Nest. The event was for ski lessons, lunch, and skiing at my old place of employment/stomping grounds, The Homestead Resort.

The pilot decided to join in, and I am so glad he did! He and Jeremy, the son of Robin (director of Robin’s Nest), went off on their own lesson and they connected right away. Jeremy loves aviation and robotics, so they had lots to chat about! Jeremy’s dad was a helicopter pilot, and Robin told me how much it meant to her and him that he came and spent time with Jeremy. I’m so glad he did, too!

Image

I was a little bummed that none of my girls from the shopping trip were there, but that allowed me to get to know some of the other girls! I enjoyed helping Marissa and Lauren, and her little sister (blanking on name!) learn how to ski. It was Lauren and her sister’s very first time and Marissa’s second, and they were absolute pros by the end of the day! It was awesome to see them progress, and I never once heard them complain even though the wind was verrryy chilly on that hill.

Image

The pilot, Jeremy and I had time to do some free skiing too. I usually ski about once a year, and I love how it’s kind of like riding a bike and comes back pretty quickly. We were so lucky that it was an absolutely beautiful (albeit cold) day and the sun was shining down on us!

Image

13. read 30 books

Image

GoodReads Summary: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

My Review: The central conflict of the book is very thought-provoking. How far should we go to hold onto the ones we love? What defines life for someone who cannot live in any way, shape, or form as the way they once did? It was definitely a sad read (I cried during our class reading time while teaching), but the conclusion was very satisfying. This was my choice for our book club read, and I can’t wait to discuss it with the other ladies. I highlighted many insightful lines, and I like Moyes’s simple, thoughtful writing. I would definitely recommend this one!

I will try not too wait too long to update next time, but we have lots of exciting things in the works– namely, #9- buy a house or condo! Well, technically, it’s his purchase, but he says it’s ours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

