twenty thirteen

I wanted to take a minute before the year turns this evening to reflect on the year 2013, lived as only I could as a 26 & 27 year old. It was a huge year for me, particularly on the personal front, and I can honestly say I am grateful for the challenges as well as the blessings that came my way. God was speaking for me for so long and giving me the guidance I needed to make some hard decisions in my life, and I refused to listen for so long. I realize now that He had some amazing plans for me, and all I had to do was trust in Him and make the difficult decisions that have ultimately led to a richer, fuller, and truly more joyous life.

Note: I apologize for the spacing on this post. 😦 WordPress is kind of driving me crazy. I’m still learning about this whole blog thing of course. 🙂

Moments:

January 2013- Adopted Gus                                                                                                                                                                     Definitely a huge highlight of my year! He has brought so much joy to my life.

image image image

March 2013- Visit New Smyrna Beach, Florida                                                                                                                                   I decided on a whim at the last minute to go visit my aunt and uncle in their condo in New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Unfortunately, the weather put quite a big damper on the trip (low to mid 50s and very windy), but I was able to have some great time with my godparents as well as get some awesome beach runs in. The following picture with my goddaughter, Adeline, is the only picture I took the entire trip (2014 NY resolution: take more pics!):

image

May 2013- Visited Chicago with Becca                                                                                                                                              

This trip can be documented as the trip where all of the mishaps and misfortunes ended up making the trip memorable.

IMG_1499 IMG_1502 (1) IMG_1554 IMG_1570 IMG_1573 IMG_1604

May 2013- Ran the Bayshore 10k                                                                                                                                                                  

I was nervous running the first “long” race of my life, but I trained pretty well for it and when the race day came I was prepared. I signed up for the race with Jenn & Alexa, but I ran at my own pace. I finished the 10k in 48:38 with a pace of 7:30, 10th in my age group. The success of this race is what inspired me to get to my half marathon earlier than planned.

photo (72)

June 2013- Served on the Mission Trip to Zambia, Africa                                                                                                        

I had the amazing fortune to help chaperon a mission trip for our high school to Zambia, Africa. We were led by Father Robbie Dekka, and we stayed in a retreat house next to Kasisi Children’s Home for 17 days to play with the kids, work on the buildings, worship together, and to have one of the most rewarding experiences of my lifetime. We also did some side trips, including a weekend trip to Livingstone, Zambia to Victoria Falls as well as a safari. This was honestly the trip of a lifetime, and God truly blessed me with this opportunity.

image  image image image image image image image image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

July 2013- Celebrated the marriage of Thomas & Breanna Davey                                                                                    

My very dear cousin Tommy got married to an amazing woman, Breanna Hinkley, at Wellers Carriage House in Saline, Michigan. The couple, ceremony, and venue were absolutely stunning, although it was a sweltering day! I will always cherish the memories we made getting our caricatures done and dancing the night away to the Lucas Paul Band.

image

July 2013- Went to Chicago (again)                                                                                                                                                    

After attending a conference in Indianapolis, I decided I wasn’t ready to face all that I was going through back in Traverse City, and made a side trip to Chicago before heading back home. I got to spend some great time with Chelsea & Jessica, and even got to take in a Cubs game!

image image image

August 2013- Met the pilot                                                                                                                                                                            

We technically met mid-July, but we didn’t have our first date until August. I will never forget the night we met; it just proves that you actually can meet someone in a bar even if you blow them off at first attempt. 😉 By the way, this is the first picture we ever took together:

image

September 2013- Visited Pictured Rocks                                                                                                                                           

You can read a more detailed post about this here, but this was honestly a true highlight of my year.

image image image image

October 2013- Ran a half marathon

Read about it here. A huge goal accomplished- here’s to more fitness goals reached in 2014!

November 2013- Visited East Lansing for the Michigan game

..and found out my sister is going to have a baby! You can see how they announced it to us here.

image image

                                                                                                                       

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

November 2013- Went on a girls’ trip to Florida                                                                                                                          Read about it here. Hopefully the start of an annual tradition!

image image image image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

December 2013- Visited the pilot’s family in Cleveland

… and foolishly decided to take the cat. However, it was awesome to get to know his family better and to meet some of his very warm friends and neighbors! Highlights were visiting the Cleveland market, Great Lakes Brewing Company, and ice skating. Oh, and of course, some drinking Jenga was played. 🙂

photo 1photo 2

image image image image image image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

..whew. Quite the phenomenal year. I am so lucky to have had these incredible opportunities and blessings in my life. Here’s to even more in 2014!

2 thoughts on “twenty thirteen

Leave a Reply

