13. Read 30 Books

Image

GoodReads Summary: The First Phone Call from Heaven tells the story of a small town on Lake Michigan that gets worldwide attention when its citizens start receiving phone calls from the afterlife. Is it the greatest miracle ever or a massive hoax? Sully Harding, a grief-stricken single father, is determined to find out. An allegory about the power of belief–and a page-turner that will touch your soul–Albom’s masterful storytelling has never been so moving and unexpected.

My Thoughts: Although I have been a bit hesitant about Albom’s writing (some of it feels a bit formulaic to me, and it seems like he is more interested in marketing/selling than in actually crafting genuine stories), I was pleasantly pleased with this book. He switches points of view often, which is a bit unnecessary at times and helpful/intriguing at others. I loved how he intertwined the story of Alexander Graham Bell’s invention of the telephone in this story about faith, and I really loved the way Albom chose to craft the conclusion. I’m excited to recommend this one to my students!

Leave a Reply

