11. take a trip with my best girlfriends- friday, november 15

I wanted to be sure I got in at least one good run outside in the warm weather, so when I woke up Friday morning long before anyone else (shocking.. tides have definitely turned since high school) I decided to lace up and get out there. I always love seeing a different place on a run, as you have more time to look closer at shops, restaurants and hotels than you do in a car.

windy along the beach

windy along the beach

a bit of my route

a bit of my route

The wind had died down a bit by that morning, which was nice. There were lots of people out and about, and I even stumbled upon a park on the beach which had workout stations set up. I wasn’t really in the mood to divert from the run, but it would have been fun to try!

When I returned to the condo, the girls had come to life and were getting ready to hit the beach. The sun was peeking through the clouds and we were anxious to bask in it. I quickly showered and packed a lunch and we were on our way. Unfortunately, by the time we got to the beach the sun had gone away and we were left with the clouds. However, it was still warm enough to be in our bikinis, so we stayed on the beach and chatted, ate, and drank for a few hours.

As we were walking back to the condo, Ashley suggested we hit the hot tub. The rest of us weren’t even aware that the condo had a hot tub, and we were all looking forward to a nice warm soak. However, as we made our way there, we learned it was not in operation! Crushed, we asked the woman at the front desk if we had any other options for a hot tub. She told us it would be no problem to hop over to the complex next to us, so that’s what we did.

we also stopped and did a little shopping.. some sweet shades were purchased

we also stopped and did a little shopping.. some sweet shades were purchased

 

When we returned, it was time once again to get ready for the evening. Lindsey’s husband Mike had been to Ft. Lauderdale a few months before we did, and said we HAD to visit this burger joint he raved about. However, once we got there we realized it was basically fast food, and as we all were dressed up we wanted something a bit fancier. After checking out a few nice but very expensive and packed places, we settled on PF Chang’s.. which to me is actually never settling, as it is one of my favorites. However, I do usually like to try more local places whenever I can. We shared many bottles of wine, lettuce wraps, sushi, and I had shrimp lo mein as my entree. Our waiter was super cute and flirty, and we kept joking that at the end of the dinner he would rip off his shirt and do a little entertaining for us. 😉 However, he didn’t even pick up on a few flirty comments given at the end of the meal, so we figured he was either not interested in females or whipped… juuust jokinngggg! 

i never know where to look

i never know where to look

with our boy of the weekend.. don julio.

with our boy of the weekend.. don julio.

At this point, we were all feeling pretty good from the wine, and some were once again too sleepy to continue the night. However, Ashley, Jessica, Tab and I wanted to get our dancin on, so down to Las Olas we headed. When we reached the destination, we were so surprised to see how hoppin the scene was there! We chose a spot to check out at random, but upon hearing the deejay’s amazing mixing ability, we decided we were sold. We then proceeded to dance until 3:30am pretty much nonstop. I honestly have never heard such a talented DJ who kept you glued to the dance floor like this guy– he would play a recent hit, then mix in an oldie circa 2001, then go with a surprise like the theme song to “The Fresh Prince”. He would not play anything more than 30-ish seconds, which is just the way I like it. Not to mention, the bartender chick kept handing me 2-for-1s every time I ordered. The place was seriously magical– everything we wanted in somewhere to dance the night away. I only wish all 7 of us could have experienced it.

such pretty ladies!

such pretty ladies!

beauts

beauts

my view at dinner :)

my view at dinner 🙂

kelly's view at dinner

kelly’s view at dinner

Leave a Reply

